QuPac Gain Staging

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions QuPac Gain Staging

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Jun Jun 8 years ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Jun
    Jun
    Participant

Hi Guys,

I am new to QuPac from Presonus Studio Live.
    As a standard, I usually set the input channels to unity then increase the gain gradually before feedback.
    I’m just wondering if there is a difference in QuPac or there is a better way achieving optimum gain structure in QuPAC.

Thanks do much in advance for any advice you can provide.

Jun

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

Pretty much like on any console. You want the gain set to where the fader operates best in that upper 1/3 area. More range below than above. So a good method is put the fader at the zero or shaded area then adjust your gain to where it needs to be. This varies with input source. Different mics, instruments will have different levels. Idea is just to keep the faders at a good point to operate. Of course you have to make sure you’re not overloading either. You see a channel clipping then lower the gain not the fader. Then re adjust fader to suit.

Profile photo of cornelius78
    cornelius78
    Participant

Not using a Qu-pac, but my procedure is pretty much the same for all mixers, be they analogue or digital.