I'm New To SQ-6 – Aux Question, please help

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions I'm New To SQ-6 – Aux Question, please help

This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Saddler Saddler 3 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of JohnP
    JohnP
    Participant

Hi All,

I have just got an SQ-6, after previously using the A&H ZED28. My question is regarding Auxiliary outputs. On the ZED428, you had Six Aux knobs above each channel strip, so you would turn the knob and control how much signal/level from that channel you would allow through to that particular Aux.

I cannot get my head around how to do this on the SQ-6, I notice on layer C, there are Aux’s 1-8 and I have certain devices assigned to these(camera, monitor speaker etc..) but I cannot see how to control level of how much of the local inputs get send through to these Aux’s.

For example, I have an ambient mic that is on local input 4, that I would like to send to ONLY Aux 5 and none of the others. I have tried turning OFF the mix sends on the (local input 4) routing page for other Aux’s, even muting the Aux’s on layer C, but it doesn’t seem to work. It works only when I turn OFF the L-R Main send.

Any help would be very much appreciated, once I get my head around it, it should all click into place.

Thanks in advance,
    John

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

On the SQ (and most other digital mixers) the Aux sends that you are used to having on knobs, are accessed from the faders instead.

So select a layer (buttons on left) that contains the channel you are interested in eg local input 4.

Then on the right of the desk select the Aux you want to send to – in your example Aux 5 (or Mix 5 as it is called here).