Most Basic Setup using an Expander

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Most Basic Setup using an Expander

Tagged: , , ,

This topic contains 13 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of IraBob IraBob 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of IraBob
    IraBob
    Participant

Hello,
    I’m new here.
    I’m old, which means I have limited I/O and a much reduced sample rate.
    I’m fairly new to audio networking concepts.
    So please pardon this extremely basic question:

I’d like to start with a very simple setup for some live streaming of performances which also includes (multitrack) recording. I’d like to use an SQ-5 and a remote I/O box (AKA stagebox or expander), or 2, at 96Khz, for approx 32 inputs and 4 monitor or IEM mixes.

The SQ system supports 3 different types of protocols for creating this very basic setup. Between the SLink, the DX and the Dante methods, which is the simplest and least expensive way to get started producing a high quality result, while I also educate myself in the world of networked audio?

I anticipate that a response might include the question of “Well, it depends on where do you see yourself going with this in 2 years”? My answer would be Keeping It Simple is probably my Prime Directive.

Many thanks for any insights you’re willing to share with an old curmudgeon.

Profile photo of Andre S
    Andre S
    Participant

Hi IraBob,

welcome to the forum.

Well, it depends on where you…just kidding 😉

I would go with slink.
    For 32 inputs you could buy 1 GX4816 (€3411) 48in/24outs -> the all in one box solution but most expensive!
    or 2 AB168 (€966/each) 32in/16out
    or 2 DX168 (€1169/each) 32in/16out
    or 1 AB168 (€966) plus 1 AR2412 (€922) 40in/20out
    or 1 AB168/DX168/AR2412 and the In/Outs of your SQ5 (if you have a lot of XLR cables left or some analog snakes).