Output from Qu-Pac to AM Transmitter

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Output from Qu-Pac to AM Transmitter

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 3 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Robert
    Robert
    Participant

I inherited a Qu-Pac mixer from an installation that occurred prior to my being hired and I am a newbie at working with digital mixers so I’m just not sure where to go with this. I need to transmit radio for drive-in church services due to the virus. I have a Talking House TH5 AM transmitter and need to run audio from a Qu-Pac mixer to the transmitter.

There is an RCA cable coming from behind the mixer and it is adapted down to what looks like a 1/8″ headphone plug. I can’t get to the back of the mixer to see where it is plugged in but I am working on that. I have tried hooking the cable to the input on the transmitter and didn’t get audio out of the transmitter. It seems to be transmitting fine because it can transmit from an internal pre-recorded message and I am able to hear that on a radio receiver. I also tried recording to a macbook pro and didn’t get audio there either despite using an adapter cable to split the mic and headphone portions of the headset plug on the macbook. I’m wondering if there is something I have to do to configure the audio to come out of the output I’m plugged in to. What is the normal way of doing something like this? Is there something I should be doing that would be better than the cable / output I am using?

Thanks so much for any help and please forgive me for being such a newbie.

Here is what the manual says to plug in to the input of the transmitter: “line-level signal (.1V to .5V, unbalanced) into the “LINE INPUT” (1/8” mini phone)”
    Manual for the transmitter: https://www.talkinghouse.com/pdfs/talking-house-i-am-radio-instruction-manual.pdf

Profile photo of Peter