Multitrack playback on SQ6

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Multitrack playback on SQ6

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Dave 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of mattlawtonbass
    mattlawtonbass
    Participant

Hi all,

Is it possible to playback multitrack recordings through the SQ6? I am new to this desk but will be teaching some basic live sound to students using the SQ6. Ideally I would like to load some pre recorded sessions onto the desk via the USB on the surface, is this possible?

Thanks

Profile photo of Adethefade
    Adethefade
    Participant

It is possible, yes. The nomenclature of files & folders on the USB drives is quite specific though and the SQ doesn’t allow ‘meaningful’ names, so it’s quite easy to tie yourself in knots trying to remember what’s what. It’d be far better to use the other USB and connect a DAW: Reaper is affordable and runs really light.

Profile photo of SQuser
    SQuser
    Participant

In addition:
    Since there is a lot to consider, it is best to read the description in your manual on pages 97 to 99.

Profile photo of mfusa
    mfusa
    Participant

Yes, as mentioned, I would review the manual and seek out some tutorial videos on YouTube. The manual does explain how to do what you want but it can be quirky as stated above.

Agree with @Adethefade. Another option is to hook up the board as a USB DAW interface and play by multitracks (in the DAW) through the board while recording on the board at the same time. Essentially recreating the recordings directly onto the board USB drive in the board. This worked well for me on the CQ board to get around issues I was having copying over existing files but is admittedly a few extra steps and some time.