Linking 2 SQ5's and using Multitrack recording

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ troubleshooting Linking 2 SQ5's and using Multitrack recording

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Brian Brian 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Steve
    Steve
    Participant

I’m fairly new to Allen & Heath and I’m looking too hire in kit for a LIVE show and there are a few things I need to do and just need conformation if this can be achieved.

Kit
    X2 SQ5’s
    DX168

I need to record separately 20 individual channels on the in built multitrack using an attached large SSD for an on going recording over 12 hours each day. I am going to need to record a backup of this as not to rely on one recording. So I was thinking about linking X2 SQ5’s together using the onboard SQlink, and basically mirroring this on the second desk. Has anyone done this before as need to see if this is possible? Also has anyone had experience recording for this long duration of time without any issues?

I also need to run a DX168 stage box on this system, so I’d need a SQLink expansion card on the first mixer to connect this, is this also all fine knowing the above info?

If anyone thinks there is a more efficient way to do this please let me know.

Profile photo of Dave Meadowcroft
    Dave Meadowcroft
    Participant

Hi Steve,
    You can do this exactly as you describe.

The problem you will have is due to the limitation of FAT32 (which the SSD will need to use to be recognised by the SQ) which has a maximum of 4GB file size.
    12 hours at 48 kHz (24 bit) is 5.8 GB per track. The max you can do continuously is 8 hours.

Profile photo of Søren Steinmetz
    Søren Steinmetz
    Participant

A different way could be, if you could get them, to have a Dantecard in each SQ5.