Recording level low USB

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Recording level low USB

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of volounteer volounteer 2 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Jon
    Jon
    Participant

Newbie here. We have a SQ7 and we are trying to do a simple recording using just two condenser microphones and recording it via stereo to the USB thumb drive. It seems to be recording fine and the volume is fine when we play it back through the main house speakers. The issue is that when I remove the USB from the sq7 and plug it into a computer the DB levels are extremely low and we can hardly hear the performance. Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

that is the way digital works

SQ gives 18dB headroom to protect against clipping.
    Your DAW will give it another 18dB (maybe a little lesa)

you need to normalize for peaks and remove the DC offset while amplifying the usb file to the level you want to use for playback by the PC

Profile photo of Jon
    Jon
    Participant

Okay good to know. I will play around with it in audacity and hopefully the sound quality will sound just as good as when I play it through the house. Thanks so much for taking the time to get back to me much appreciated.

volounteer
    Participant

@Jon

use audacity normalize function – that is more than adequate and easy to do for this purpose

normalize to -18 dB while removing DC offset
    do any other editing tweaks fx yada yada that you want
    then normalize to -6dB for playback (you could go to -1 safely but some AD/DA chips have minor issues at their extreme limits)
    lower the gain on the SQ input or DAW to reach the dBSPL that you want to listen at, or raise it some if you should need more gain

Profile photo of JohnOC
    JohnOC
    Participant

Thanks for the topic.