Microphone Presets

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Microphone Presets

This topic contains 10 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Hugh Hugh 1 year, 9 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of viperius
    viperius
    Participant

We have a number of Shure SM58’s and I noticed that there are some professional presets for the QU series but not for the SQ series.
    Are they compatible or does anyone have any for the SQ5

Thanks
    Kenny

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

To be honest I would not put too much value in a microphone preset.
    Set the high pass and channel EQ appropriate for the source at the mic.
    A preset can not take into account the sound source at the mic, the room it’s being used
    in and the sound system.

viperius
    Participant

Thanks Mike. I am fairly new to all of this and you never know if something is going to useful or not.

Kenny

Profile photo of Rafael A&H
    Rafael A&H

Dear @viperius

A preset is a good way to start your adjustment and is always a good first reference is needed, specially when not having much time to setup.
    As advised by Mike, it is always good to include your own technique, knowledge and ears to adjust.

At the moment these presets are not available on SQ range, only for QU.

Cheers,
    Rafael

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

You can create your own presets over time and save them to the library.

If you have a QU mixer handy you could always look at the presets settings and manually
    copy them into the SQ.

Profile photo of Hugh
    Hugh
    Participant

Mic presets are somewhat analogous to training wheels on a bicycle. Most SQ owners would never use them if they were available!
    Hugh

Profile photo of Rafael A&H
    Rafael A&H

Dear Hugh (And all),
    Thank you for your input.