Make LR Mix Select flash when using sends on faders

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ feature suggestions Make LR Mix Select flash when using sends on faders

This topic contains 10 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of AdamC AdamC 3 days, 11 hours ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Pete Alcock
    Pete Alcock
    Participant

I’m new to the SQ having taken delivery a week ago, although I have used SQ6 previously at local venues. I can’t be the only person that has adjusted, what I thought was the main mix, only to realise that I was changing (i.e completely messing up) a monitor or FX mix!

I wondered how the console could warn the user that they’re using Sends-on-Faders, and I think either of these could work:

1. Whenever a mix other than LR is selected, the LR Mix button could flash, maybe not even blue.
    2. Alternatively, the scribble strips could invert (go light-on-dark).

Either of these would instantly alert that SOF is active. What d’ya think?

Cheers,

Pete Alcock.

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

To be honest, there are already indicators for send on faders, if you ignore them you will ignore the others as well.

If you are on sends on faders, the corresponding mix button will be lit.
    And the master fader mix button indicator is off.
    It changes to red if you assigned the listen level to it.

Profile photo of Pete Alcock
    Pete Alcock
    Participant

Hi Steffen, I take your point, but the FX mix buttons for example, light up blue which is very easily missed. I don’t think it’s a case of ignoring them, more a fact of not noticing them.

To illustrate the point, try settling a soft key to be global tap tempo. The thing stands out like a beacon – there’s no way you’ll not notice that! (So much so that I had to remove that function from the soft key as it was annoying). That’s the level of prominence I was in a S.O.F. light.

Profile photo of SQuser