'Bird Beater' question

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions 'Bird Beater' question

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Zigzag Sky Zigzag Sky 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Zigzag Sky
    Zigzag Sky
    Participant

Just setting up a small TV studio using an SQ5 and a couple of D-Snakes and am trying to set up a ‘bird beater’ process which is where a mix is sent to a destination ‘pre fader’ but muted when the fader is opened. In this case this is to set up ‘lazy talkback’ to a Producer from the presenter mics.

The process is that when the presenter mics are faded down on the main mix, the Producer receives their pre-fader audio but once the mics are opened on the main mix, the feed to the Producer is muted.

I’m still learning the ins and outs of the mixer but can’t find a way to do this easily.

Anybody got any ideas?

Thanks,

Brian

Profile photo of KeithJ A&H
    KeithJ A&H

Hi Brian,

There is no internal way of achieving this, though it would be relatively straightforward to achieve with the addition of a BomeBox ( https://www.bome.com/products/bomebox ) and Bome’s MIDI Translator Pro ( https://www.bome.com/products/miditranslator ), or a connected computer running a MIDI translator.
    The BomeBox firmware includes auto-connection to A&H digital mixers over the network port and can load translation files from MIDI Translator Pro, so this would be a neat stand-alone solution.
    You may find that you are ok with a computer based solution however, and for testing at least, you could use Bomes MIDI translator classic.

The SQ sends and receives MIDI messages for both send levels and mutes, so you’d be looking to add some logic in the translator that says ‘when main (or other) send level is above x, mute y. when main (or other) send level is below x, unmute y’.