Mix for Monitors not muting.

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting Mix for Monitors not muting.

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of rs6484 rs6484 11 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of rs6484
    rs6484
    Participant

We use mix 1 and mix 4 for our two floor monitors. These are connected to a two channel amplifier and then independently wired to the two non-powered speakers.

I thought these were working well for the last three years but recently I noticed that if I mute the Mix 1 speaker (our lecturn monitor) I still get the sound routed through Mix 2 (our keyboard) also coming out of the muted Mix 1 speaker. If I mute Mix 2 it however behaves itself and stays silent when Mix 1 is unmuted.

All our mixes are set to pre-fade (I think), I read and watched information about that. I am still learning having only taken over in the last couple of years and with no previous audio mixing experience. I suppose it could be our amps but they look simple enough, two inputs and two outputs. Our main speakers are routed through a digi-mixer (which I do not understand at all) but the monitors do not touch this at all – I’ve traced all the cables and even colour coded them.

Any thoughts would be very much appreciated. Thank you. Roy.

Profile photo of Mike C
    Mike C
    Participant

You can not “mute” individual mix sends using the mute button, you can turn down the channels mix send or un-assign the mix at the channel send.

Where are you muting at, the channel or the mix master?

What outputs on the mixer are you connecting to the monitor amp inputs?

The amp itself would not cause the issue.

“Our main speakers are routed through a digi-mixer (which I do not understand at all) but the monitors do not touch this at all – I’ve traced all the cables and even colour coded them”