Ganging ABCD of several channels?

Forums Forums dLive Forums dLive General Discussions Ganging ABCD of several channels?

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of msteel msteel 1 year, 7 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of msteel
    msteel
    Participant

Maybe I am missing something since I am brand new to dLive. But I’d like to be able to gang the ABCD function of a number of channels so that they all are always on the same A or B input. Then I’d like to assign a softkey (or two) to one of the channels so that I can switch A<->B. But as far as I can tell, the ABCD function cannot be ganged with the current firmware.

The purpose of this is to allow us to switch between a primary and backup audio playback computer. Our current way of doing this predates the dLive and uses an external analog switcher (Whirlwind AB8).

So far the closest I can come is to use softkeys programmed to change ABCD on ALL channels. This has the limitation of having only one use for ABCD on the entire desk. Also, it does not have the nice visual feedback about which input is currently selected.

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

you can use scenes to change many inputs at once

Profile photo of msteel
    msteel
    Participant

That might work. How does that interact with a cue list? As this is a theatre application we would need to be able to do the A/B switch without losing our current place in the cue list.

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

then your scenes for the input switch should stay out of your cue list

Profile photo of msteel
    msteel
    Participant

Yes, I tried this and it accomplishes the purpose.
    The only thing that doesn’t work like I want is that the A/B softkeys only stay lit until the next scene recall. It would be nice if they reflected the ABCD value at all times.

Profile photo of msteel
    msteel