PEQ with RTA

Forums Forums CQ Forums CQ General Discussions PEQ with RTA

This topic contains 2 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Area51drones Area51drones 2 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of CQ-18T
    CQ-18T
    Participant

I’m new to the CQ-18 and an amateur to digital mixing.

I am having a challenging time understanding how the PEQ with RTA (Real Time Analyzer) works and was unable to find any videos on A&H or YouTube that would provide a detailed demonstration.

I would be grateful for any assistance, please!

When I set the Main LR Outputs to PEQ, set RTA to ON and enable “In”.

Questions:
    • What does the RTA actually do? Does it automatically adjust the Main LR PEQ or does it just provide adjustment recommendations but the user needs to make adjustments?
    • What do the 3 types of curves (Shelf, Bell or HPF/LPF) mean for the LF and HF? Do I need to select and adjust the curve type with RTA enabled or is that taken care of by the RTA feature?
    • How does FBA work in conjunction with RTA? Is this the same RTA as PEQ or a unique RTA for FBA?
    • Does the selected Quick Start option (Rock, Pop, Country, etc) have specific presents for the Main RL output PEQ and etc or does it only set the channel types and Quick Channels?

Best practice:
    • When setting up the mixer, do you first EQ the individual channels and then tweak the Main LR outputs or visa versa?
    • Should “compressor” and “limiter” be set on individual channels or on the Main RL outputs or both?
    • Is there a recommended HPF frequency setting for Keys (i.e. Korg Pa5x) and vocals?
    • I am using the CQ-18T with the Yamaha DZR12 speakers:
    o Do I set the level on the back of the speakers to “0” or all the way up “+10”?