Help with basics of QU-16

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Help with basics of QU-16

Tagged: ,

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 2 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of siftmusic
    siftmusic
    Participant

Hello and first-off, my apologies if this is not the place for this type of post. I am not new to recording or the basics of using a mixer and / or DAW. But, I am completely new to the QU-16 and am hoping I can find someone who might be willing to spend and hour or two lending a hand.

I “inherited” the mixer / recorder when my music partner passed away from cancer last November. This was totally unexpected – he was only diagnosed a few weeks before, and how equipment works was not front-of-mind. We had a number of tracks that he was in the process of mixing at the time.

My schedule stays completely booked, so it’s been difficult to find big blocks of time to watch tutorials and read manuals, and get fully up-to-speed on the board. I have figured out how to get into scenes that he had saved, and do some basic routing, but some simple things still are beyond my grasp (I can get audio out of the mains, but still can’t figure out how to get the headphone output going).

Because of my limited time, I am hoping that I can compensate someone for some “training” on the board. This can be done via Zoom, etc. – I am fine to point a camera over the board and go through that way. I’m hoping that it wouldn’t take too long for me to understand enough to complete the tracks that we started. Once I do that, I intend to cease that project (it’s been going for 20+ years), but will still use the board for recording of other projects.

If interested, you can hear a track that we recorded on the board, and see some live footage of my friend and myself at the last show we did (2/29/2020):