Controlling multiple outputs (mixes) with one fader

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Controlling multiple outputs (mixes) with one fader

This topic contains 5 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 8 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of bbbHeath
    bbbHeath
    Participant

I am new to the qu series and am using the qu-16. Is there any way to control multiple outputs (mixes) with one fader?

I’m working with a theater production in a multi-channel environment where the speakers are more or less evenly distributed, with no explicit main mix. And I’ve noticed that it’s quite cumbersome to change the output volume of a (let’s say) microphone for each mix (output). I can do this with the gain knob, but I’m wondering if there’s a smart solution that lets me control the output levels for multiple mix outputs on a channel with one fader.

Thanks a lot

Profile photo of Giga
    Giga
    Participant
    Profile photo of Scott
    Scott
    Participant

DCA will do the job. You will need to use the “custom” layer in order to access the DCA fader on the Qu-16.

Profile photo of Tom
    Tom
    Participant

DCAs answer your question.
    You would assign the AUX masters to a DCA and control the masters with 1 fader.
    Then, to get individual control per mic channel:

• In your speaker AUX mixes set the mic Channel(s) to Post fader
    • in each AUX mix, set the Mic fader(s) to e.g. 0 dB
    • once set the AUX master levels
    • now use the Mic fader in the Main Mix to control the sends to all the AUXes where this channel is set to post fader.

And the DCA fader to control the output masters.

Hope this helps, or sorry if I misunderstood your question.

Profile photo of bbbHeath
    bbbHeath
    Participant