CQ20B asa midi device in DAW. What does it do?

Forums Forums CQ Forums CQ General Discussions CQ20B asa midi device in DAW. What does it do?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of KeithJ A&H KeithJ A&H 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of FatherTime
    FatherTime
    Participant

In the device settings I see the CQ20B as a midi device? How does that work and what does it do?

Profile photo of KeithJ A&H
    KeithJ A&H

@FatherTime

Nothing at the moment, but we needed to include MIDI in the USB connection in case we ever want to implement a MIDI protocol (as we’ve done with Qu and SQ over USB-B in the past).

Thanks,
    Keith.

Profile photo of FatherTime
    FatherTime
    Participant

I’m new to your products but loving the CQ 20 I’ve recently purchased. I would pay for a midi control surface right now 500to1000 range.

Profile photo of pcpmafic
    pcpmafic
    Participant

After scouring the internet, this is the only official line I’ve found on anything related to MIDI on the CQ series.

Do you have any more information about what this MIDI functionality might look like?

I have a CQ18T would love 1:1 control over every parameter in the box for seamlessly integrating w/ my custom Ableton Live instrument (+1 if it’s customizable / assignable with a quick mapping sub-menu).

Thanks for any additional information, Keith.

KeithJ A&H

@pcpmafic

We’ve had requests for slightly different implementations at the moment.
    One way would be closer to Qu, where more parameters can be controlled at lower resolution (https://www.allen-heath.com/content/uploads/2023/06/Qu_MIDI_Protocol_V1.9.pdf)
    The other is closer to SQ, with fewer parameters at higher resolution, relative control and ‘get’ messaging (https://www.allen-heath.com/content/uploads/2023/11/SQ-MIDI-Protocol-Issue5.pdf)