Will you share you workflow?

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Will you share you workflow?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 6 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of boota boota 4 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Need2retire
    Need2retire
    Participant

Hi All,

I’m a total newbie in the world of mixing. I just recently bought the SQ5 and still trying to figure everything out, and I’m at a point where I’m just using a very basic feature. The hard part for me was how to get things to sound good. I know “good” is a subjective thing, but in my case, the vocal, just doesn’t sound good at all … just thin and boring. I’m taking voice lessons, and in my teacher’s studio his setup made my voice much better when we do a recording. He didn’t give me the details but he said compressor + a little reverb + a little delay. I tried that on my SQ5 but it doesn’t sound nearly as good as what he has.

A lot of it has to do with me being an amateur at mixing. I understand each situation is different, but can you please share your “go to” setup (parameter for compressor, eq, fx, etc) for vocal, guitar & drums (electronic drum). I understand eventually I would need to tweak the parameters my self, but if I could have a setup from a pro, it would get me to a starting point to start on. I search but not sure if there is a thread where people share their workflow.

Thanks!

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

Yes! Good is totally subjective.
    Before you look at what you can DO TO your track, look at your mikes, room, your voice, instruments, yada yada, and how to get a better recording to start with. GIGO is not just for software. And fixing in the mix is not always worth the effort.

Compressor will make it louder, verb will change things which may or may not be better.