Wave's Native vs Soundgrid

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Wave's Native vs Soundgrid

Tagged: , , ,

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Sebastien Sebastien 5 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Jay
    Jay
    Participant

So i’m new to live audio – I currently use wave’s products in studio so i’m familiar with them. I’d like to implement them into our live setting now that we’ve installed our new SQ7. I’m looking for thoughts on the two options and then i have some follow up questions as well. (I run an SQ7 with Digital snake)

Obviously in terms of latency SoundGrid is better – but i’m not looking to pack the rack’s with TONS of plugins – probably EQ/Comp/Reverb on Kick, Snare, Vocals (a little delay here maybe), maybe something like a EQ/Comp on drum/Vocal bus and final comp on Main Bus so not a ton of processing. (i get there may be better ways to do this so i’m open to suggestions but this is just off my head)

that said would native ran on a GOOD laptop be sufficient? and not cause so much latency that it would be noticeable? Or would i still NEED the SoundGrid? Cost is a factor but i also want it to sound good w/o latency issues so i’d like to throw it all on the table at first.

any pros out there that can help i thank you!

PS I’m not a pro by any means but enjoy this very much and would like to get better!

Profile photo of Art
    Art
    Participant

I think you’d find latency to be too high in a native environment. However, you can try it. You can download Multirack Native and demo it free for 1 week.

Profile photo of Jay
    Jay
    Participant

Thanks for the response – I’ve seen mixed reviews in different places some say there is too much latency and others rave bout how its not noticeable – maybe it depends on room size? i’d think you’re probably right. i didnt know about the demo i’ll have to give that a shot.