Using groups: Best surface layout

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Using groups: Best surface layout

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of WaihekeSoundie WaihekeSoundie 3 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of WaihekeSoundie
    WaihekeSoundie
    Participant

Hi all,
    This is a question more about how to use the SQ5 for best workflow than what it does per se? Can I ask those questions here?

I am new to the Sq5 and to groups. I get why I would use Groups (broadly speaking): one master fader for the group and I can put FX / compression etc across a number of inputs.

So to do this I would un-assign from main LR those inputs I have in the group but assign the group to LR (which by, default, the 4 pre-assigned groups already are).
    After that I must always mix the members in the context of the group — so, if I do want to tweak them individually then I switch out of LR and select the Group.
    BUT I also set up the group’s master fader as an input on my main LR layer so I can pull them up and down as group easily..

Is this the idea or have I got this wrong?
    So If, say, I put all my Vocals in Group 1 – every time I want to change an individual vocal level or mute a mic I have to come out of Main LR and select the Group 1.. to see the vox on the layer(s) for that group yes?
    I guess you just get used to working this way?

(Or I have I got this completely wrong?)

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

No completely, no πŸ™‚

But you don’t need to worry about switching from Main LR to the group to make adjustments to levels. The level for main & any groups will always be the same – if you swap from one to another, you’ll not see the fader move.

So once you’ve set up a group with any eq, comp etc that you want, you can just mix as “normal” with Maim LR selected.

Profile photo of ioTon
    ioTon
    Participant