Use LR Output as HiPass + 1 Mix out for Sub

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Use LR Output as HiPass + 1 Mix out for Sub

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Pete Pete 8 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Pete
    Pete
    Participant

First post here. I have just bought a QU-24, but have not yet taken delivery (next Monday – Yay). I currently use a Mackie CFX20 MkII + 2 outboard racks driving a QSC QSub and 2 x JBL powered speakers as main FOH. I use a Behringer CX3410 as an active crossover to keep the high energy bass frequencies away from my JBLs. I prefer this to using the Sub Out on the mixer since this does not remove the bass freqs from the LR Mains.

My question as a total newbie (I have studied the manual and viewed the YouTube vids) is can I set up the LR Mani outs to have little or no bass via the EQ. I would guess, yes here? I also want try and use one analog out to drive my sub. I don;t care if this is L+R full spectrum since the sub a). won’t respond to upper frequencies and b). there is not much relative energy there anyway.

The alternative would be to keep the CX3410 and use is as I do today but, I really don’t want to do that.

Thanks for helping me out. I am sure to be back.

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

You probably want to read these threads first:
    use equaliser to put low pass filter in place
    Feeding subs via Mix 5-6 using LPF, as a substitute crossover
    The first thread also contains some frequency plots showing the difference between a faked (using EQ) and real crossover.
    If you just want to protect your tops, this may work. If you bought a Qu in order to make great sound, stay with or maybe upgrade your crossover.

Profile photo of Pete
    Pete
    Participant

Thank you Andreas for pointing me in the right direction.