USB recording

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions USB recording

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of volounteer volounteer 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Lighthouse Church
    Lighthouse Church
    Participant

I am new to recording our worship on through the USB on our SQ7. My question is this….When I import the recorded audio files into my audio editing program, The Master LR track has the reverb I’ve set, but each individual track does not. How do I fix this in my board settings? I don’t want to have to recreate the same reverb in my audio editing software. I want the same exact reverb. Do I simply need to set the reverb to pre instead of post? I’ve read that effects should only be done post. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you!

Profile photo of Dave Meadowcroft
    Dave Meadowcroft
    Participant

Send the FX returns to a pair of USB outputs.
    The FX doesn’t exist in the input channels (apart from inserts but I wouldn’t do that for reverb!), only after the fx unit so in their returns or any mixes the returns are sent to such as LR.

Profile photo of Brian
    Brian
    Participant

Check out this Allen & Heath article for more information about what is available on the USB recording options: https://support.allen-heath.com/Knowledgebase/Article/View/understanding-sq-usb-recording-and-playback

If I understand that page correctly, USB mulitrack defaults to “tie-lines” as the sends. This means it each channel is sent to the USB directly after the preamp and before any channel processing. This is normally how you want to set it up because you generally want a clean track to playback and process at a later time. However it sounds like you can change this to “direct out” and select the pick point in the processing chain.