USB recording

Forums Forums iLive Forums iLive general discussions USB recording

This topic contains 16 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Nicola A&H Nicola A&H 3 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of omb
    omb
    Participant

Hello, this is my first post here, so please excuse me if this is the wrong forum. I am a newbie owner of a A&H ZEDi 10FX but I cannot seem to find a dedicated “ZED” series forum.
    Also, I am a live performer, not a studio technician, so my recording knowledge is only adequate but limited.

I have a (recently bought) A&H ZEDi 10FX that I have connected to my iMac via USB for recording/playback, using Logic ProX.

I believe that the recording signal sent to logic (via USB) is taken directly from the input gains of the mixer, bypassing the onboard EQ and FX. This is fine, as I do all my signal processing within Logic

However, I have recently wanted to record clips directly to the computers “in built” camera (ibooth), but using the mixer as the audio source as the iMac mic is poor and I would like to add eq and fx directly to the audio signal.

I simply cannot find a way of adding fx or eq to the usb record signal. I have succeeded in adding EQ and FX using an auxiliary mix, and feeding the computer through the analogue “line in” route, but would prefer usb digital if possible.

I notice on the mixer Block Diagram, the USB record source is shown as “Default-Pre EQ”. Is there any internal switching to change this to POST eq/fx or any other way of adding the onboard eq and fx to the usb record output. (As a new user, perhaps I am missing some simple onboard routing switching).

This may be in common with all USB mixers, as I said, I am new to this but I hope I have explained my question clearly.

Thank you for reading….any help GREATLY appreciated…..Brian

Profile photo of Mach
    Mach
    Participant