upgrading to 1.8 – question

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions upgrading to 1.8 – question

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of john john 8 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of john
    john
    Participant

So, I’ve been using my qu-pac for about 4 months now and love it. I’ve been running version 1.7 and had the corresponding qu-pad app. Since everything was working so well, I had no intention of upgrading the software when 1.8 came out. Unfortunately, my kids updated all my apps on the ipad. So now I’m stuck with app version 1.8. As a result, I have to upgrade the qu-pac as well. So a couple of questions for all of you who know the system much better than me:

1) Will I lose my scenes and any settings n my qu-pac by upgrading my qu-pac to 1.8?
    2) Is there any data saved on the Ipad itself? I’ve been using a 6 year old ipad and I think if I do upgrade everything to 1.8, I may have to get a new ipad 2. If I do, and then upload the latest version of qu-pad to it, am I losing all my settings and such? Likewise, if I can figure out how to install an older version of the app on my current ipad, will I lose settings? Or is everything saved to the qu-pac?

Thanks.

Profile photo of David Haughton
    David Haughton
    Keymaster

Hi John, this shouldn’t be a problem and you’ll benefit from the great new features in v1.8.
    The first iPad is no longer supported by Apple and can’t be updated past iOS5. Anything later that this will be fine.

You may be able to restore from an iPad backup: https://support.apple.com/kb/ph12521?locale=en_GB this is risky and you may find that a backup has been overwritten since…

1. Qu firmware updates won’t overwrite scenes stored in the mixer, but make a backup onto a USB key to be extra safe.
    You can use the same key to update the firmware too.

Plug in a USB key which can be erased into the Qu-Drive port.