Two monitor mixes at a time

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Two monitor mixes at a time

This topic contains 8 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of MarkPAman MarkPAman 8 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of mr. y-mun
    mr. y-mun
    Participant

Hi everybody,

I’m a newbie, so sorry if this is going to be a stupid question. I searched the forum before, but I couldn’t find a matching answer.

We have a Qu-16 in our band. I’m responsible for the technical stuff/mixing on stage in the band and play the guitar at the same time. 🙁 This means I listen to my monitor mix and would like to check the FOH sound from time to time. I use In-Ear-Monitoring with a decent headphone what works well for me.

My question is: How can I – from time to time switch in my monitor mix (5/6) from my dedicated control mix to the FOH mix and back? Is this possible at all?

To get the main mix in my monitor mix I connected “alt out” on the back externally with “ST2 in”. If there is a nicer way to do so, I would be very happen to hear about it.

Looking forward to hearing from you guys.

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

If you are just using PAFL on the IEM master for that mix just PAFL the stereo mix to switch back and forth. That should work. That is assuming you are using the console headphone out. If not then your method should work ok.

mr. y-mun
    Participant

I want to use these two mixes with IEM while playing. So headphone wouldn’t work. 🙁

The question is how to switch back and forth between the complete mon mix and FOH with more or less one or two buttons.

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

Checking FOH sound from stage with IEMs? Nice approach, I doubt this will work for the audience…