Streaming Live/ Facebook setup

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Streaming Live/ Facebook setup

This topic contains 11 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of volounteer volounteer 3 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Andre2000
    Andre2000
    Participant

Hi

I have been asked to do a short show solo setup/tracks on Facebook/YouTube. I have never done this before so I think I need some advise.

I have Qu 16/IPhone 11/ MacBook Pro/ GoPro:

My idea is to go through 3/4 channels on the desk sum stereo out via usb on channels 1&2 to OBS-NDI mix audio with iphone/gopro webcam. I would obviously like the mix with effects/Eq. I am a Sax player so will use Amt microphone.

Only issue I may have that once you start streaming it will be so compressed I may as well put a mic to a speaker due to the quality on the streaming end.

Any insight appreciated.

Andrew

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

Do the streamers actually compress unless your SPL is too many LUFs (or whatever their scale is) ??

I would far prefer compression to a mike on a speaker.

Andre2000
    Participant

One more point is that I believe OBS will only see channels 1 and 2 so can I can figure the QU to send only a simple stereo pair. Also I would like to record it also through USB on the top of the machine in multitrack so I can edit/Mix again.

Andre2000
    Participant

Yes I would prefer that also. But I have seen some really bad streams. Using a iPhone & high quality audio will I have buffer issues? I would like to send in stereo not unlike a DJ setup. Tracks/Sax. Maybe I could cheat and prerecord… 🙂

volounteer
    Participant

@andre2000

99% of the audio I hear on utoob or other streaming is terrible. A lot of the video is terrible too.

I would far prefer to prerecord edit mix and normalize to their dBFS/LUFS requirements before uploading.