st groups.

Forums Forums GLD Forums GLD general discussions st groups.

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of moonface moonface 9 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of moonface
    moonface
    Participant

HI all, newbie here, and i mean newbie.. i am new to the live sound mixing world. one question i do have is stereo groups!
    where, what,and why would i want to use a stereo group, and suggestions. there are 2 stereo groups on the gld, whats is the best way to use them, and how you route them ect.. thanks.

Profile photo of cornelius78
    cornelius78
    Participant

A group is an audio path that sums whichever inputs you send to it. The summed signal can then be routed to its own output and/or another audio path (eg LR or a matrix.) On the GLD, a group also has it’s own processing (peq, geq and compressor) and can have an insert (either local digital fx rack or outboard) applied. If it’s a stereo group, the channels routed to it will be panned the way they’re panned in LR. In most cases you’d un-assign the channel from LR, assign it to a group, then assign the group to LR. In other cases you’d assign the channel to LR and to the group, but not assign the group to LR. You application will determine which is best for you. Some uses include:

Level control: route all your drums to a group and control their overall level using the group master fader, without affecting their pre/post send levels. In some cases you’d be better served using a DCA, or a combination of both. On analogue desks without VCAs, it’s an easy level control, and another gain stage.

Group eq: if you’ve got 10 mics that all need the same eq, instead of eqing them individually, you could send them all to a group and just eq the group. With ganging and copy+paste this is less of an issue with digital, but it can save a lot of time if working with analogue.