Simple Mix Examples Please

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Simple Mix Examples Please

Tagged: 

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 6 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Harle000
    Harle000
    Participant

I’m a newbie, and I’ve watched all the videos, and read all the manuals. I appreciate a walk through example of setting a mix.
    Assume I have 4 channels in, 1 & 2 Instruments (Inst), 3 & 4 vocals (Vox).
    Inst have FX applied by the players. Vox are straight to the mixer.
    1. To send Inst 1 and vox 1 to mix 1 – after setting and processing chnls 1 & 3 – and applying FX to Vox 3 – press Mix 1 – set master volume, select adjust fader 1 & 3. (Simple)
    2. I now want to send a stereo mix (IEM) of Inst 1 & 2 to left and Vox right through stereo mix 7/8. I’m a bit lost on how to assign 1 & 2 to left, and 3 & 4 to right.
    Thanks

Profile photo of Roy
    Roy
    Participant

Very easy. Treat your mix 7/8 as if it were the L/R. After pressing mix 7/8, go to the pan control on the instrument channels and set them accordingly. Then do the same for the vox but pan in the opposite direction. I don’t pan all the way left or right though as this sounds a bit odd in the IEM. About 3 of the leds does the trick.

Harle000
    Participant

Thanks for the prompt response. As I must be as thick as a whale sandwich is the following correct:
    Same channels 1 & 2 instruments, 3 & 4 voice.
    1. Process the channels, FX as required on vocals.
    2. Select Mix 7/8. Do I press SEL on Master strip, or the Mix Assign and SEL for channels 1 & 2 then use Pan (left), do I press anything else before Mix Assign and SEL for 3 & 4 and panning right?
    I seem to keep getting a mono signal through my IEM hence my reason for trying to get the exact process.
    Thanks
    H

Profile photo of Roy
    Roy
    Participant