Setting a system with 2 SQ's + CDM48

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Setting a system with 2 SQ's + CDM48

This topic contains 4 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of AndyC AndyC 5 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Maurivamjr
    Maurivamjr
    Participant

Hello! I’m kinda new to this digitial world, so forgive me in advance if my question here sounds silly.
    I’m responsible for choosing a new sound system for my church. After a lot of research, I decided to go with Allen & Heath because they surely have the best options out there – especially because of the flexibility of their systems (which is very important for me, but also makes me a little bit confused sometimes).

I thought in buying 2 SQ-7 consoles and a CDM48, plus (at least) 8 ME-1 personal mixers. What I have in mind is this: I want to use one of the SQ-7 as my FOH, and the other as my broadcast mixer. How can I connect both to a CDM48, together with the ME-1’s? What else would I have to buy in order to make it possible?

One thing: I’m in Brazil, and here it’s very, very hard for someone to test this system before buying it. So all the answers you guys can give me will be really appreciated!

Profile photo of Alex A&H
    Alex A&H
    Keymaster

Hi Maurivamjr,

Something to note here is that the CDM48 is a mixer in it’s own right and not a digital stage box, and any connection to another mixer will just be for Audio and not for control.

If you need 48 channels available on both SQs, you can use a DX-Hub with 3 x DX168s. This can be connected to the FOH SQ via the on board SLink port, you can then install an SLink option card into the FOH SQ to connect to the Broadcast SQ over SLink. To then use ME, you would need to install another SLink card in the broadcast mixer to feed the ME system.