Scene in Admin being changed by Standard users

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Scene in Admin being changed by Standard users

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 5 years ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #55604
    Profile photo of gilly
    gilly
    Participant

    Hi Folks
    Just wondering did any of you experience this with Qu-24:
    I as admin block allocated Scenes 1-14 under Admin control (and it works as when I log on as Standard user I can only , and I have Scene 1 set up as the DEFAULT scene, with the settings I like, for instance I set up DCA’s on 2 faders in the Custom Layer so I can have all of the FOH speakers volume controlled from DCA 1 fader 24, all the Monitors (Mix 1-4) volume controlled from DCA2 fader 23. I saved this.
    But every so often when I go in to use this Scene 1 I find that a lot of the parameters have changed, e.g. the above DCA’s are not allocated on the Custom Layer and the PEQ settings are completely different on some faders than the way I set it…..
    Just wondering is there any way a Standard User can effect Scenes 1-14 by accident ?

    #55626
    Profile photo of Nicola A&H
    Nicola A&H
    Keymaster

    Hi Gilly,

    Are the unwanted changes stored in Scene 1 when you recall it?
    Remember the Scene Range user setting doesn’t stop the Standard user from changing current settings (for example PEQ).
    Also worth noting that the User Scene (Scene 1 in your example) would only be auto recalled when the User changes i.e. when Standard logs in after Admin, not when Standard logs back in after power up.

    #55637
    Profile photo of gilly
    gilly
    Participant

    Hi Nicola
    Yes the changes are in my default Scene 1 (which can only be accessed by Admin) after i power up. For example PEQ in certain channels are changed to totally different EQ settings than i would ever use.
    Sometimes on Sunday after i am on sound, logged in under Admin, there is a kids group on requiring a simple sound setup, so i log out of Admin, log back in as Standard user and open Scene 15, or some other scene from 15-100 – without powering desk down. But Scene 1 isn’t available to Standard users so i can’t figure how they can get in from this procedure?

    Btw what exactly do you mean by
    <Remember the Scene Range user setting doesn’t stop the Standard user from changing current settings (for example PEQ).> How can a Standard user change PEQ settings on a channel in an unavailable Scene 1?

    #55639
    Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

    The scene is not auto recalled on reboot, but will be listed at the bottom of the screen – so their changes will be on the desk, and it will kind of look like that is scene 1, but unless it’s been recalled it isn’t.

    #55641
    Profile photo of gilly
    gilly
    Participant

    Yes Bob i know that. When i log in as Admin i highlight Scene 1 and recall it

    #55642
    Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

    As in my other thread I started. This whole scene business has confused a lot of people and I am not convinced it works like it should. It is the only thing now with the console that is an ongoing confusion with most people. I have had customers just give up on it.

    #55645
    Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

    @gilly – worth checking 😉
    I tend to splat and reload from memory stick because my desk gets hired out as well…

    #55652
    Profile photo of gilly
    gilly
    Participant

    GC i read through your previous thread and yes i agree it’s confusing, even the experienced gurus are confused or at least are disagreeing on what is and what should be. Today i experimented and logged on as Admin, recalled Scene 1, made an EQ change on Ch20. Then i logged out and straight away logged back in as Standard user (remember that Standard users only were given access to Scenes 15-100). And Scene 1 was showing in scene selection tab and also at bottom of screen. And i changed a few settings and went to save and as i expected the scene it saved to was the first available scene which was Scene 15, and not Scene 1 as was suggested earlier by Nicola. And when i logged back in as Admin and recalled Scene 1 it was untouched from last time. Which is the way it should be, so I’m still left wondering how my settings in Scene 1 could be effected by a Standard user. Weird !!

    Bob what is splat?

    #55687
    Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

    Splat – I do a full restore from USB.

    I “plat” the configuration that was left from whoever used it on it’s last hire

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.