Scene for each song??

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Scene for each song??

This topic contains 19 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 9 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of audiokla
    audiokla
    Participant

Hallo,
    as a complete newbie with digital mixers, I would like to ask the pros here about their experience.

I have to mix a cover band in some shows with about 60 Songs. I know them very well, so we have time to practice together.
    Does it make sense to save one scene for each song? So that they have individual settings? My only job would then be to switch between the scenes and to fix and correct the loudness settings (e.g. gain etc.)
    What do you think about that?
    Greetings from Germany
    Klaus

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

Recalling scenes can be a great tool, but go carful!

There’s a lot of stuff that can be saved which you don’t want to change per song, like main eq & graphics on monitors.

Then there’s changes you need to make on the night (singer has a sore throat tonight) and not have to re-do every song.

So make sure you really understand the way scenes work, and the use of “filters” and “safe”.

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

I do the same, mix for a covers band, but I don’t use scenes per song.

I do have an overall scene for them, but not per song. Every so often I think I ought to do so, but many years later, and I still haven’t done it.

I tend to find that despite the fairly wide range of music (1950’s through 2010’s) I don’t need to do a lot of eq tweaks between songs, so there would be a relatively little benefit, and enormous risk in terms of changing the wrong thing.

Profile photo of John-S
    John-S
    Participant

AudioKLA,