Routing FX Pedals

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Routing FX Pedals

This topic contains 37 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 7 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 38 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of cantona
    cantona
    Participant

Evening all. I have recently brought a QU32 and use around 28 channels which all have drum machines/synths coming straight in through 28 line in channels.

I now really need advice about putting two Eventide H9 FX pedals into play. I’m pretty new to the world of mixing desks so not sure how to go about it. What I want to try and do is use both of these FX pedals as two SEPARATE effects that I could then spread over the whole of the 32 channels.

I’m wondering what would be the best and easiest way to set this up. I’m thinking at this moment that the way to go is using both of the stereo mix outs XLR’s going into both L&R jack inputs on the H9 then rerouted back into the mixer via both of the stereo inputs. I’m not sure if this is the correct way of doing things but I would be interested to find out! Not sure what settings need to be set or if things need to be changed in the mixer.

Any help is really appreciated here!

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

Feeding to a (stereo) Mix output and back into the Stereo inputs should be the best way to go.
    Using a Mix is exactly the same like using a FX bus or LR, you probably want to set the channels to post-fader, so if you turn down the LR fader, no signal will be sent to your Mix output as well.

Profile photo of
    Anonymous

wow that sounds exciting
    Please post some pics somewhere so we can all see

regards
    NZdave

Profile photo of Giga
    Giga
    Participant

I’m curious to hear if this works out. My experience is that feeding the same signal through the desk twice (one direct and one via a “loop”) causes latency problems.

Giga

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman