Routing back to DAW for mixdown

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Routing back to DAW for mixdown

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Rich Rich 4 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Rich
    Rich
    Participant

Hey all, I’ve been through just about every topic on DAW routing I can find, including many in the QU forums, which have similarities. I am able to track from any input into my DAW through USB(B) and can get both direct outs back to additional tracks (as a proof of concept I set up a session with 16/16 with my inputs on layer a, and my returns on layer b). I have a master return from the DAW (Abelton live) as USB Out on an additional track. I’ve also set up midi control (and thanks to the note on-off soft-keys have some snappy transport controls and other goodies working really well).

I’d like to be able to mix down from my direct DAW outs on the board rather than itb to take advantage of the SQ’s channels and processing, and send a stereo track back into a channel on the DAW to write the mixdown. This last piece is where I’ve hit a wall of inexperience.

It doesn’t seem like I can freely route the master LR to a usb channel, and the few ways I’ve tried either result in no signal sent (trying to set up a submix of my return channels and routing that, while leaving the master lr alone), or if I do get it to work, I get a sensibly awful digital feedback loop since the master is then sending itself and returning. This seems to happen even when I disable the master out on the DAW to test this.

Does anyone have a sensible routing plan to send a mixdown track back in while I’m mixing the direct outs of the individual channels?

I’m using an SQ-6, and it’s really fantastic, I feel like I’ve gotten pretty far in my setup in just the few hours I’ve put into it.