Recording with QU

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Recording with QU

This topic contains 13 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of [XAP]Bob [XAP]Bob 9 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of knga
    knga
    Participant

Hello!

I’m completely new to recording, I only did live mixing. So, what’s the easiest way to record with QU and for example Cubase? Do I multitrack record playing and after put it into program, and mix there? Can I record each track on it’s own? Give me some instructions on that:) I want to do some experimental mixing.

Thanks!

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

so currently this is the fourth how-to-record-thread in a row, nice…

With the Qu you can do multitrack recording either way. Recording 18 tracks (not more not less) right from the desk to USB HDD/SDD/Stick or connect a PC/Mac to the USB connector on the back and record all required channels directly into your favorite DAW.

Profile photo of John-B
    John-B
    Participant

Just chiming in here, there is also lots of great info located on the Knowledge base site here:

https://allen-heath.helpserve.com/Knowledgebase/List/Index/201/qu-series

I’ve had very good experience, especially when I’ve followed the HDD recommended drive info for using the Qu-Drive process. I’ve also had good experience when recording direct to Protools on my MacBook Pro. Again that knowledge base site is a great resource, as A & H has recently added Windows drivers also. I’m assuming that might be part of your concern with Cubase, as I believe it’s Windows (PC) only. Hope this helps!

John

Profile photo of knga
    knga
    Participant

So can I record every instrument separately? Then I have a lot of MTK files, and I can put them all in daw, and they are then together? Can I also playback stereo to headphones of player, and simulaneously multitrack record? If not, what would be easiest way to do that? Thanks