re-recording with qu16 and ableton live

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions re-recording with qu16 and ableton live

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of ljefe ljefe 8 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of James
    James
    Participant

Hello,
    This forum seems to be a “tresure” for newbies like. I’m not good at english. I work on a QU16 with a macbookpro and ableton live. Can somebody tell me how to do re-recording ? Playback some instruments (for exemple from 1, 2 3, 4) and record a voice (on 5…). Thanks for your help.

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

Should be able to play out with a DAW (use the USB-B as the “global USB source” and select the USB input on those channels) and record from any live channels as well…

Can you do the playback alone?
    Can you do the recording alone?
    Do you have the bumper manual? https://www.allen-heath.com/ahproducts/qu-16/#tab4

Profile photo of ljefe
    ljefe
    Participant

What you’re trying to do is “overdub”.
    I don’t use Ableton, I use Logic. Generally, by default, the sound coming from a DAW to the Qu-16 will arrive on channels 1 & 2.
    In Ableton, make sure your stereo output is set to channels 1 & 2.

To hear the music from the computer, first link the channels-
    On the Qu, press the green “Sel” button over channel 1
    Press the green “Processing” button, upper right side of the touch screen
    On the touch screen press the greyed-out button “Not linked CH 1-2”
    The linking page opens, press the greyed-out “Not linked” button
    Press “Apply”
    Now channels 1 & 2 are linked, use the channel 1 fader to adjust the playback volume
    Turn the channel 1 pan knob all the way to the left. This will turn channel 2 pan all the way to the right automatically.