QU32 outputs to 24 track 2" recorder?

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions QU32 outputs to 24 track 2" recorder?

This topic contains 10 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of  Anonymous 3 years, 1 month ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MarkD30
    MarkD30
    Participant

Hello and I’m a newbie,so apologies if this has already been covered.

I use a QU32 in my studio by connecting the USB cable out to a PC running Cubase, and this works well.

I also have a 24 track 2” machine and would love to be able to record the initial backing tracks (usually drums, bass and guitars) into the 24 track for the analogue sound, then transfer them into Cubase for overdubs and the rest of the session.

The 24 T tape returns are no problem as they go straight into the desks line inputs, but I don’t know how I can record to the 24T via the desk as it doesn’t have direct outputs.

I could possibly route some individual outs via the mix / group / matrix outputs but this could get messy and untidy, especially as a lot of those outs are already needed as headphone mixes for the musicians.

Probably the best solution would be if there was some kind of USB digital interface / splitter between the Qu32 USB out to Cubase, which also provided parallel outputs to a bank of jacks or XLRs (16 would probably be enough) that I could plug in to the 24 T.

Does anyone know of such an interface please, or is there another way of achieving this?

Thanks very much!

Profile photo of volounteer
    volounteer
    Participant

@markd30

I do not know of such a device. Some of the pros may so check back later.
    Just what interface(s) does your tape machine have?

Based on what you describe I am not sure that you have a problem at all but may be trying to solve it the wrong way.
    Please be more clear of the time flow and signal flows you envision, and which are in parallel and which ones can be sequential.