QU24 need an Amp

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions QU24 need an Amp

This topic contains 16 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Ash Ash 9 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Ash
    Ash
    Participant

Hi I’m a newbie and this might be a silly question but can anyone suggest some pa amplifiers to go with QU24…..I got the mixer now need an amp……currently got speakers at 8ohms at 350watt each

Regards
    Ash

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

Lots of good amps. QSC is my preferred. Crown, Lab Gruppin and others.

Profile photo of debzdoodle
    debzdoodle
    Participant

Usually the amplifiers are chosen to suit the speakers and your requirements, not the mixer.

Profile photo of robbocurry
    robbocurry
    Participant

Like George said QSC good value and reliable.
    GX5 sounds about right for your speakers, built in x-over if you need it too.
    Nice little amps:)

Profile photo of Ash
    Ash
    Participant

Thanks wonder if anyone has an opinion on Yamaha P7000s, someone recommended it to me….

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

Yamaha used to build pretty decent amps. Some were very revered. I have not used any in a long time I am sure they are probably fine. As previous poster said you need to consider what speakers are going to be on them and the general usage as to levels etc. It is more about that than what mixer they are hooked to.

I have always told people. Speakers and power are the big concern. Give me plenty of power and great speakers and I can put a $100 mixer on it and sound great. Give me the opposite, crappy speakers and low power and I don’t care if you put a $100,000 console on it, it will sound like crap.

Profile photo of
    Anonymous