Qu16 With QSC k10.2 Noise

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting Qu16 With QSC k10.2 Noise

This topic contains 10 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Mike C Mike C 3 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of AndyD
    AndyD
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to Allen & Heath. Two days ago I bought myself QU-16 and spent about 4hours youtubing and learning tutorials and finally I got simple system up to work. My setup is very simple.

QU16
    QSC k10.2 Pair
    Shure BLX4R with Beta 58A
    Furman Power Conditioning M-8Lx
    Monster Power Conditioning Pro-2500 (kinda old)
    Samsung TV 3.5mm audio out to Line 15 and 16.

I ran into an issue with noise coming in into my QSC. It is not a 120hz ground loop issue more like 60hz sshhhhh and they are quite noticeable from 3-10ft away.

These are the steps I have done so far to isolate the issue.

Try 1: Only QU16 and QSC are using Furman and Monster (everything else are off)

Firmware are up to date. Electronic equipment within 10ft or more are off.

1. I Make sure QU16 and QSC are plugged into Furman and Monster
    2. I make sure QU16 has only Main L&R out to the two QSC k10, nothing else, no mic, no sub, except ST3 in 3.5mm
    3. I use 3.5mm input into ST3in with my Ipad to play music from youtube
    Result: After the music kicked in for a few seconds, I muted or stop the music from the channel ST3, and I noticed the noise from both QSC k10 from at least 8 feet away.
    4. I unplugged both QSC k10 from Main L&R, and of course no noises. Plug them back in and noises again. I LEFT THE SYSTEM IDLE FOR ABOUT A FEW MINUTES, NO NOISES COMING OUT. Then again if I started the music and stop, noises again.
    5. I switch out with another XLR cable from QU16 to QSC and no change.