QU16 compressor – gain reduction. Quick question for gurus :)

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions QU16 compressor – gain reduction. Quick question for gurus :)

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of volounteer volounteer 2 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Bill Hester
    Bill Hester
    Participant

Hey guys

Can I first just say a huge thanks to everyone who contributes on this forum. I have had a QU16 for about a month, and have been here many, many times as I’ve gradually figured out how to use the thing! Absolutely invaluable advice and guidance from this community. Thank you!

I have just one question as I’m struggling to set the compressor properly. I’ve read the manual, and searched online – can’t find any reference to this.

I’m a studio producer and understand how compressors work. Usually when using compression in the studio, I’m looking at the level of gain reduction, and (eg for vocals) would be looking for 4-6 dB max. Frustratingly on the QU16 with the little coloured bars I can see when compression is happening, but I have no idea how much.

I may be dumbly overlooking something (I hope so) but just wondering if anyone had any advice as to how to see how much GR is actually happening? The compressors are pretty fully-featured, it just feels a little like ‘flying blind’ when trying to dial in (at least for me right now!).

VERY grateful for any thoughts or advice.

Thanks and warm regards to all, Bill Hester

Profile photo of SteffenR
    SteffenR
    Participant

Bill… use your ears 😉

I’m afraid there is no scale to get a value of gain reduction.
    As a workaround a can suggest to use the QuPad app,
    there is a 10 and 20dB margin on the gain reduction display. But no real scale as well…

I think you will get “a feeling” for the amount of gain reduction after a while…

Profile photo of Bill Hester
    Bill Hester