Qu16 compatible monitors

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Qu16 compatible monitors

Tagged: 

This topic contains 7 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Dave Dave 7 years, 3 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of danieldlds
    danieldlds
    Participant

Hello all,

I am totally new to this mixing business. I have a Qu16, and need to get a couple of monitors. (For now I am using the headphone jack). Do the monitors have to be active, or passive ?

Many thanks

Profile photo of David
    David
    Participant

The monitors need to powered in someway either by being powered or run from an amp.

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant

Hi Dan

The Qu-16 (and all other the Qu mixers) does not have amplifiers for any speakers/monitors built in, so you will need to buy an amp with your speaker.

This could either be built into the speakers, or a separate unit. As you’re new to this, I’d suggest that powered speakers with the amps built in are the best way to go, as the manufacture will have done all the calculations of amp size & impedance matching for you, as well as doing some of the wiring too.

[old git rant]
    The terms “active” & “passive” certainly used to mean something different to “powered” and “unpowered”. Unfortunately many manufacturers now use these terms (wrongly IMO) for speakers with & without built in amps, so it’s widely accepted these days – but “powered” is slightly less ambiguous. [/old git rant]

Profile photo of JohnK
    JohnK
    Participant

To add to the reply — mixers generally don’t supply speaker power unless they are specifically noted as being “powered mixers”, of which there are a few, but not the norm.