QU 32 Squelch control

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting QU 32 Squelch control

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of GCumbee GCumbee 8 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of kpjax
    kpjax
    Participant

Hello, new tech here. I’ve been running the sound at our church (lttb.org) for years. We just replaced our old analog peavey board. We got a new QU 32 a few months ago. Recently my wireless (technical pro wm1641) mic’s have been having a humming issue. I got a mic replaced, now another mic is having an issue. the system only hums when the wireless mic’s are on. I had the main unit worked on by a local company to try and get it to go away w/ no luck). Again, it’s only when the mic’s get turned on. I wanted to try and remove some squelch from the channels but I can’t seem to find what the squelch may be called. I’m an IT guy by trade (for the past 20 years). I’m the only one willing to do the sound so I’ve learned stuff over the past 10 years w/ the old board and now the new. But I can’t for the life of me find the squelch on this board. Maybe the squelch is just called something else on this board?

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

On a mixer this is generally called a “(noise) gate”.

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

I would be also trying to solve the hum problem at the source. Ground loops? Placement of receivers next to high current items or devices with power transformers in close proximity? Look for that. Even with a gate operating you’re still going to have the hum when the mic is on. If it’s that bad then it will be distracting.

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

Sure, fixing the issue at the source is always preferred. If its mounted inside a rack, I’d probably start checking with the unit removed from the rack (for the reasons George already stated).