QU-16 Simultaneous playback while USB streaming into DAW

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions QU-16 Simultaneous playback while USB streaming into DAW

This topic contains 29 replies, has 10 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of rocker rocker 9 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Brosco
    Brosco
    Participant

Hi all,

Novice here 🙂

Can anyone tell me if it is possible to record multitracks into Protools, then playback those tracks simultaneously while recording extra tracks into same project? If so what settings do I use?

I have been able to record into protools alright and playback those tracks through the QU-16 using usb-b streaming in source menu, but when I arm another track to record, I am unable to playback those tracks already recorded to play along to to record new track…if that makes sense.

Profile photo of
    Anonymous

That is not supported, unfortunately, as stated in https://allen-heath.helpserve.com/Knowledgebase/Article/View/774/273/qu-drive–understanding-qu-drive-and-usb

“QU-DRIVE MODES

Stereo Playback + Stereo Record simultaneously, not supported
    Stereo Playback + Multitrack Playback simultaneously, not supported
    Stereo Playback + Multitrack Record simultaneously, not supported
    Stereo Record + Multitrack Playback simultaneously, not supported
    Stereo Record + Multitrack Record simultaneously, not supported
    Multitrack Record + Multitrack Playback simultaneously, not supported”

But here is a feature request for that: https://community.allen-heath.com/forums/topic/multitrack-record-multitrack-playback-simultaneously

Vote for it, maybe they find the resources to implement that feature.

Profile photo of GCumbee
    GCumbee
    Participant

I think everyone needs to get over the fact that the QU is NOT a DAW. Period..

Profile photo of
    Anonymous