Qu-16 : NOISE using mix as send/return for external effects

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting Qu-16 : NOISE using mix as send/return for external effects

This topic contains 7 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of MarkPAman MarkPAman 7 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of cisa
    cisa
    Participant

I have a problem with my QU-16:

I use OUT MIX 5-6 for using external effects ( Strymon BigSky reverb) as inserts or send/return for my synths.

The routing is:

QU-16 (OUT MIX 5-6) -> (INPUTS L-R) Strymon BigSky (OUTPUT L-R) -> (INPUT 5-6) QU-16.

In QU-16 monitor I see (and hear from main mix and other mixes) that there is some noise continuous (like white noise, I am not an expert in mixers). I can “silence” the noise using the QU-16 GATE, but the problem is that everytime I play a note with my synths the noise is still here (until the gate cut off the sound).

If I connect only:
    SYNTH (OUT L R) -> (INPUTS L-R) Strymon BigSky (OUTPUT L-R) -> (INPUT 5-6) QU-16 (so, without using Qu-16 as insert/send return), the noise disappear.

I also tried to change BIG Sky with a DBX266XS compressor connected in same way and same thing:
    if the routing is

QU-16 (OUT MIX 5-6) -> (INPUTS L-R) Compressor (OUTPUT L-R) -> (INPUT 5-6) QU-16. the noise is here

if the routing is

SYNTH (OUT L R) -> (INPUTS L-R) Compressor (OUTPUT L-R) -> (INPUT 5-6) QU-16. the noise disappear

What can it be?

Thanks in advance to everyone for help….
    Cesare

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

I guess your Mix output carries the noise from some other input (maybe the test-tone generator?) and noise goes away when lowering the Mix5/6 master fader, right? I’d start checking that the return from your Fx is not fed back into the mix…

Profile photo of MarkPAman
    MarkPAman
    Participant