Please Define VCA and DCA

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Please Define VCA and DCA

This topic contains 9 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of airickess airickess 5 years, 7 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Em
    Em
    Participant

Geez, I’m a real newb but I see these and don’t have a clue what they stand for…
    Thanks!

Profile photo of Andreas
    Andreas

From Users Guide, Chapter 8.11 “Mute and DCA Groups”:

DCA Groups – A DCA (Digitally Controlled Attenuator) provides remote control of the levels of the channels assigned to it. Unlike a stereo Group, audio does not pass through a DCA Group. Instead, the audio levels are controlled at the channels by information sent from the DCA master.

The DCA master Fader adjusts the level of assigned channels at their channel fader point and before the Pan control. This means that post-fade levels to the LR mix and effects are adjusted. Pre-fade monitor sends are not affected. The fader adjusts from fully off to +10dB boost. A channel can have a maximum +10dB boost including its own fader and control from any assigned DCA group faders. When a DCA fader is at its ‘0’ position it has no effect on the channel levels. This is the typical starting point when working with DCA Groups.

A VCA would be a Voltage Controlled Attenuator, used in analogue desks for similar functionality.

Profile photo of MJCElectronics
    MJCElectronics
    Participant

In the large format analogue days A&H used to publish a guide called “Mixing Live with VCAs” that I would point people to for a good explanation, but since the ML series was discontinued they seem to have pulled that document from the web site.

It’s a shame because it gave a good explanation of VCAs for the uninitiated, and is equally applicable to DCAs in the new digital world.