Parallel Path Wet/Dry question

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Parallel Path Wet/Dry question

Tagged: , ,

This topic contains 11 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of WaihekeSoundie WaihekeSoundie 3 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Lighthouse Church
    Lighthouse Church
    Participant

This may seem like a very amateur question, but can someone please explain the dry/wet level effects for parallel compression? I understand the concept of parallel compression and think it will benefit our live stream sound, but I am curious as to what effect it would have, for instance, if I set my dry to -20db and wet to 0db versus 0db dry and 0db wet. I am new to this and don’t really have an opportunity to practice different settings a whole lot with our live group. Thank you for your help and have a great day 🙂

Profile photo of KeithJ A&H
    KeithJ A&H

@Lighthouse Church,

Although parallel compression is built into each processing channel on the SQ, you can think of it in the same way as having two channels next to each other, each with a fader.
    One channel is the uncompressed ‘dry’ signal, with full dynamic range. The other channel is exactly the same signal, but has been affected by the compressor so it is ‘wet’.
    If you had dry at 0dB and wet at -inf it would be the same sound as if you hadn’t even switched the compressor in.
    With -inf dry and 0dB wet, it would be the same as if you had the compressor switched in and parallel path off.
    So having -20dB dry signal and 0dB wet just means you’ll hear less of the uncompressed version relative to the compressed version.
    What it will actually sound like will be completely dependent on the source material and compressor settings.