Newbie Help with QU 16

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu troubleshooting Newbie Help with QU 16

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of steve.battisti steve.battisti 1 year, 2 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of steve.battisti
    steve.battisti
    Participant

Hi all, complete newbie here. I’ve been scouring the Internet looking for places where I might be able to ask a super basic question. Apologies if this isn’t a good place to ask. Feel free to redirect me.

I’m a drummer in a cover band. We play very basic gigs with a simple mixer. I have never mic’ed my drums, and I’ve never used in-ear monitors or anything, we just have a wedge (which is awful for me). We never have a sound person, so sound is often an adventure. We are looking to up our sound game a bit, and have invested in a better board, an Allen and Heath QU-16.

I am trying out a set of in-ear monitors as well, and this is where my question comes in. To make the in-ear monitors work, I have a little Mackie Mix 5 board. So, I am getting an XLR out from the QU-16 that goes into the Mackie Mix 5. The out is unique for me, so in theory I can ask for more vocals in my monitor and we can accommodate that without impacting anything else. My in-ears get an out from the Mackie Mix 5 board, so I can control the volume level myself using the Mackie.

We had tried a simple version of this setup the week before with our old board and just vocals, and it worked fine. I could hear the vocals very well in the in-ear monitors. So I’m confident that my in-ears work, the Mackie board works, and the concept works.