NEWBIE ALERT: Hooking up a Signal Processor

Forums Forums iLive Forums iLive general discussions NEWBIE ALERT: Hooking up a Signal Processor

This topic contains 15 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of quebecguitare quebecguitare 8 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of quebecguitare
    quebecguitare
    Participant

Hello, thank you for reading this post, I am new at mixing.

I have done some reading and still trying to wrap my head around the basic concepts of AUX, FX and INSERTS. Still confused with the Send/Return thing…

I am looking to purchase a A&H ZED-10 unit (I notice there is no section for the ZED line on this forum), but I am not sure if it will fulfill my LIVE scenario accordingly.

Main Output:
    2 QSC K10 on for the room and 1 QCS K10 as a stage monitor

Input:
    I have an Avid Eleven Rack with Stereo Effects and Signal Processing for Guitar as Input.
    -The unit has a Main Ouput with Stereo Left/Right XLR.

Easy Peasy Question 1
    -I plan to use it directly in the mixer, my understanding is that I will use 2 mono tracks on the ZED-10 (XLR from the Eleven Rack above), which means that my EQ will have to be set at the same value, right?

Question 2
    The ZED-10 has only TWO main output (Left/Right), but I will use 3 speaker.
    -I was thinking of using 2 XLR output to 2 Speaker and 1 TRS to XLR cable to the Stage monitor Speaker. My understanding is that these cable are not balanced, is that a problem (please add details if possible)?

Question 3
    -I plan to use a signal processor such as a Lexicon MX400 Rackmount for Compression and Effect for a Classical Guitar using a mic as input for a live setup.
    Ref.: https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/MX400TRS

-The unit has Analog left/right Output TRS and left/right Input TRS, I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO HOOK THAT ON THE ZED-10 Mixer!
    -The mixer has Aux out, FX out and Main Inserts.