Mute issues

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Mute issues

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of JLD JLD 9 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Rawdealad
    Rawdealad
    Participant

Hi,

I am an amateur sound guy operating the QU16 for my band and at some rock gigs.

Previously, on older and cheaper analogue desks I had been able to mute a channel which resulted in no sound from FOH but as it was pre-fader, and the aux send was turned up, it was still audible in the monitors.

Is there a way to achieve this on the QU? I like to run slick change-overs and this would really help me.

I can PFL and ear it myself but often it’ll set the musicians at rest if they’ve heard it for themselves.

Many thanks,

Ad

Profile photo of Jline
    Jline
    Participant

You could simply use the Mute button on the master fader to simply kill the sound to FOH only. Of course, the monitors will be live so watch out for folks unplugging instruments, etc.

Rawdealad
    Participant

Thank you for your reply, Jline. This is not an option though as I’d want to be playing music between bands.

My plan to overcome the popping and over zealous lea pluger-inners was to unassigned the channels whilst changing/plugging in and then reassign, channel by channel, as I checked each instrument in. The audience hear the cd and the rest of us can hear what we need to.

Profile photo of robbocurry
    robbocurry
    Participant

An easy way would be to assign all but your cd to a mute group which you could enable/disable as you plug/unplug your channels from your iPad on stage? I don’t have my desk to hand to see if hitting the mute button on a channel selected in a mute group defeats the mute. That would be easier again but I can’t recall if it works that way….!

Rawdealad
    Participant

Robbocurry, thank you for your suggestion.