Mixing In-ears and compression

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Mixing In-ears and compression

This topic contains 20 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Eric Eric 6 years, 8 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Eric
    Eric
    Participant

I do the sound for my band using the QU-SB (came from QU-16). I’m still new to this, so there may be basic holes in my knowledge.

I’m using in-ears and it’s been a frustrating journey for me. The other members are all on wedges. I stumbled across this excellent webinar that really showed be what I have been doing wrong.

I captured a multitrack recording from our last gig and have been using it to mix my in-ears. Doing everything in the video really made a difference. However, I’m not sure how/if I should do a few things.

1. Should I add compression to just my iem’s to help keep all the instruments leveled (and to help spikes in volume)? CAN that be done, if so, how?

2. How do I add reverb to the other instruments just for my mix? (I’m using 9/10 for iems)

Thanks!
    Eric

Profile photo of [XAP]Bob
    [XAP]Bob
    Participant

You can add overall compression to your mix, but that protects your ears, it doesn’t preserve balance.

Adding FX returns is the same as adding any other channel.

You can’t add compression/fx to a channel ‘just for you’ unless you have a spare fx unit and/or channel to double patch the input…

Profile photo of Giga
    Giga
    Participant

What Bob said + I usually use a different pick-off point for IEM’s compared to wedges. If you use the signal after the processing done to the channels you automatically have the compression you dialed in on the signal that comes to your IEM mix so that helps. Setting the compressor for your mix pretty high (= almost limiter-like) with a high treshold (-5dB f.i.) can protect your ears at the cost of loosing some dynamic feel.