Live Sound Engineering Tutor?

Forums Forums Qu Forums Qu general discussions Live Sound Engineering Tutor?

This topic contains 34 replies, has 15 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Roy Roy 7 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of coffee_king
    coffee_king
    Participant

Hi All
    I’m currently depressed with my very basic skills as a sound engineer and after one too many gigs with ridiculous feedback coming through vocal mics the second the drummer plays anything I’ve decided its time I looked into finding a tutor or something to improve my knowledge.
    I’m actually a musician and do the sound for my band, but please don’t start going on about how you “Can’t be both” as Ive heard it on this forum too many times before and its not productive to say so thanks.

I’m willing to pay to be taught, or I can give up my time helping out roadying / setting up mics / co-engineering at gigs.
    So does anyone know anyone in the Staffordshire area that might be able to assist me?

The reason I’m on the QU forum is that I own a QU16 myself so to be taught directly on this fantastic machine (Or similar) would be a great help.

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of debzdoodle
    debzdoodle
    Participant

Can’t help you from the U.S.- sorry but Could you get a few recorded tracks down and spend a day just playing with each channel – EQ, comp, gate, FX etc. ? That would help you so much because sometimes it’s just a case of becoming familiar with each aspect of the system. Then have the band set up and play and spend some time doing the same thing concentrating on monitors and drum mic placement. Do this when you have time and you are not rushed at a gig.

coffee_king
    Participant

Hi
    Cheers for thr response. I really do mean LIVE sound though. I’m fine at mixing at home using Logic etc when nothing is spilling/feeding back into anything else.

Profile photo of dcongdon
    dcongdon