Live Multitrack recording

Forums Forums SQ Forums SQ general discussions Live Multitrack recording

This topic contains 3 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Andrien Andrien 5 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of MadWollf
    MadWollf
    Participant

I’ve been poking around the SQ-6 for a few months now, and am fairly proficient with it, but I haven’t quite figured out how to record multitrack during a performance. Whenever I assign inputs to the multitrack USB, it disappears from the mains. Am I just blind to what I’m supposed to do, or is that not an option yet?
    Thanks in advance

Profile photo of Mfk0815
    Mfk0815
    Participant

Maybe you misunderstood something. You have to assign your physical inputs (from microphones or line in signals) to the output of your multitrack recording target.
    Let’s say you want to record via USB-B 32 channels to your computer. This would be the most reliable recording option with the most possible tracks. Using the internal SQ-Drive gives you only the opportunity to record max. 16 channels and you have to take care that the mass storage is fully compatible with the SQ. But let’s do it with the USB-B.

Please read the actual reference manual (https://www.allen-heath.com/media/SQ_ReferenceGuide_V1_3_0.pdf) for details. I will give you hints which chapter would be relevant.

Prior firmware version 1.3 you have to assign on the IO outputs tab the direct outputs to the USB outs (see chapter 6). There are also options for using the direct outs of the channels. this can be done via the Routing page of any input channel (chapter 8.1). Using direct outputs of the input channels will have the advantage that you will have a 1:1 relation between what you are mixing and what you are recording. No matter how the input patching is actually done. you can even record post channel processing (something I definitely do no recommend).